The Woodstock School District 200 Board of Education said goodbye to a few longtime members and installed new ones at a recent meeting.

Jacob Homuth, Bruce Farris and John Parisi joined incumbent Carl Gilmore in a brief swearing-in ceremony May 2. The newcomers replaced longtime incumbents Paul Meyer and Camille Goodwin, who did not seek re-election, and William Nattress, who had served on the board since 2014.

Superintendent Mike Moan thanked the outgoing members for their service to the district.

Meyer was a member of the board for 16 years and had served as president.

“Paul is the guy that called me and offered me the job to come here, so personally for me, [he always has] a spot in my heart,”  Moan said during the meeting.

Goodwin, also a former board president, was a 12-year member. Moan called her “a tremendous supporter of the district.” Nattress, Moan said, was the board’s resident technology expert who “did everything to support us in so many ways.”

Parisi said the board will be faced with big decisions to make, especially with regard to possible school consolidations. The board is expected to hear a presentation this month from the district’s Facilities Review Committee recommending Dean Street Elementary School be closed.

“I think the decision around moving forward as far as consolidation and what’s going on with taxes and everything like that is going to be difficult,” Parisi said following the meeting. “Difficult decisions will have to be made.”

Farris said the large slate of candidates for school board — 10 people vying for four seats — was evidence that the district is in a time of change.

“We have to put a lot of thought into decisions, even though we may have differing opinions,” Farris said. “We have some deep issues. So many people threw their hat in the ring because they know there will be changes.”

“I am excited to learn and keep an open mind, do the best I can, and take all of the information and make the best decisions I can make,” Homuth said.

At the meeting, Gilmore was re-elected board president, David Shinherr was chosen as vice-president, and Russell Goerlitz was named secretary.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This